When Insomnia Comes to Visit, Talk to Her

Loosely based on a true story

Leonardo Del Toro
4 min readOct 9, 2022

Good morning, insomnia. Why are you here so early? I have not seen you in a while, how’s business? You must be busy these days keeping a lot of people awake. Don’t worry; I’m not avoiding you because I’ve tried this before, and it doesn’t work. And I’m not mad at you either. Welcome back. Let’s talk.

I know you came to talk about that little thing that is bothering me. It would be nice if you could spell it out because I frankly don’t know what is bothering me. I feel just fine, up to the moment you simply woke me up, and now I’m starting not to feel OK. You must know what is bothering me; please tell me.

Look, I know I’m getting old, and we will all die; that must bother me sometimes, but that ain’t it. I’m okay with death. I have a friend that has cancer and is not doing so well, and that could certainly be it. And I heard that Putin would incinerate half a million people and start a nuclear war around the planet. That could be it too.

But you know, Sonia. Can I call you Sonia? It’s so much better. I’ve had even worse news before, and I slept like a baby through it all. I know. You want to talk about something more profound and intimate when you visit. Something uncomfortable.

--

--